Cliff Bennett Memorial Education Award 

Sponsored by MSMA, MAIL Magazine and MAILCOM

The education and training of mail and distribution systems managers, suppliers and industry professionals is the #1 goal of the MSMA. Our mission is to offer all members opportunities to gain as much industry knowledge as possible through programs sponsored at the local and national levels, including the MAILCOM Conferences.

MSMA, MAILCOM, and MAIL Magazine are honored to provide the Cliff Bennett Memorial Education Award.  During his lifetime, Cliff contributed to the education and professional career development of thousands of Mail and Distribution Managers worldwide. This award, given annually, is a legacy to Cliff's commitment to professional development throughout the industry. This award seeks to reward and encourage newer members of the industry to participate in training and development opportunities and ultimately become a leader in the industry.


Applicants must have a minimum of 1 year and not more than 5 years of service in the mail and distribution industry. 

Please verify that your application is accompanied by the following:

 1. Proof of the length of time you have been employed in the Mail / Shipping / Distribution Services Industry. 

2. A letter from the person to whom you directly report (or from your company if you are self-employed) on your company's letterhead stationery indicating support for your receiving this award. 

3. Verification of your membership -in - good -standing in MSMA (verification by either an MSMA Chapter Officer of your local MSMA Chapter or the National VP of Membership). 

4. Essay (500 words or less) explaining why you have chosen a career related to the Mail and Distribution Industry and your contributions to the industry. 

Winners will be chosen by an award committee and judging will be done based on the above criteria, incomplete applications or applicants who do not meet the criteria will not be considered.   

Previous award recipients include: 

2001 - Sue Wadel - Wisconsin Chapter 
2002 - Denise Schmadl - Wisconsin Chapter 
2003 - Leonard Hong - Los Angeles Chapter 
2004 - Andrew McMahon - Metro DC Chapter 
2005 - Irene Green - New York City Chapter 
2006 - Scott Sukovich - Iowa Chapter 
2007 - Jim Burns - Boston Chapter 
2008 - Kim Gebhardt - Chicago Chapter 
2009 - Mario DeLeon - Central Texas Chapter 
2010 - Linda Ferrell – Houston Chapter 
2011 - Dana McCormick - Metro DC Chapter 
2012 - Jane Patton - Central Texas Chapter 
2013 - Rob Chmiel - New Jersey Chapter 
2014 - Betsy Shortell - New England Chapter/Ken Hoyle - Houston Chapter 
2015 - Jenna Garcia, Kansas City Chapter
2016 – Debra Visco, New England Chapter
2017 – Brenda McLemore, Chicago Chapter 

The recipient will be notified by July 31st and the award will be presented during the Fall MAILCOM (September 24-26th, 2018) at the Tuscany Suites Hotel in Las Vegas.

Complete details concerning this award can be found by clicking: 

Cliff Bennett Memorial Education Award Application.pdf

where you can download the application. The deadline for submission is June 30, 2018. 


Deadline for application submission is Monday, June 30, 2018.


Thank you and please feel free to contact your Chapter President or me with any questions or additional information. 

Barbara Fahy, MDC 
MSMA National President

Email:  fahyb@aol.com
Phone: 708-442-8589


National Headquarters 
P O Box 1145 
N. Riverside, IL . 60546-1145 
Website:  www.msmanational.org      
Phone:  1-800-714-MSMA

© 2013 Mail Systems Management Association. All Rights Reserved
Home  |   Why MSMA  |   Certification | Membership |  Contact Us